When the minimalist isn’t minimal, When the minimal becomes interesting

Dear readers, before you read this essay I’d like to apologize for my writing. English is not my mother language and I have a long history about struggling with English writings.

I was raising by a Buddhist family. The philosophy of Buddhism is always around human relation with nature and the universe. We talk about it everyday in my family on the dinner table. Neither the concept of nature, or William Corron is a stranger to me. After a while, conversations been overheard, ideas been overthought. I get fatigue a bit. As a Buddhist artist, my practice is acrossing the stage from trying to engage with nature, staying away from defining nature, to just let it be. For the most of the time, I follow with my instinct, avoid to speaking intentionally or avoid to avoiding speaking intentionally.

I am not a minimalist but I realize that I am being a minimalist on my projects. During this semester,  I have couple small projects that I didn’t create anything but simply go there, record it then play back to the audience.

I broadcasted a trash station, recorded sound underwater, played with feedback. I have been doing it and didn’t consider much about the intention. Luckily Lindsay and Eric seems to be very understandable. Different than other instructors who questions me , they always encourage me to do, to make it happen.

My perception of my work is changed after the Australian sound artist Leah Barclay’s visiting. She gave us talks about how river recordings could contribute to biosphere soundscape. How a hydrophone recording could help underwater species diversity research.  Also how river listening as a workshop could effect community.

For a while, I have been doing the same thing without knowing a good reason besides my instinct. Her perception of river listening is convincing. The context she provides makes my practice more interesting than just a philosophical influenced behavior.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

